The Continuing Saga of the Bear Cubs

While we were packing up to leave Captain Cook SRA, the brown bear cubs made another appearance. They had been showing up in the campground fairly often. This time they were up in a tree and hanging around the campsites. I managed to get several closeup pictures.

We have heard more from locals on these cubs. They say that the mother must have been shot or died some natural death. They are definitely orphans. They won’t make it through the winter. They will probably not be trapped and brought somewhere. I heard one local say that they should be shot so they don’t have to suffer when the winter comes. I hate to think of anything happening to them but nature has it’s ways of dealing with life and death.

The whole campground was in a tizzy. Everyone was snapping pictures. One guy got too close and cornered one of the cubs. The cub hissed and charged at him. Even at that age and size they can be pretty ferocious! They definitely can run faster than I can!

Notice the big, bad dog in the window of the RV trying to scare off the cubs. They are definitely hungry. I can see that the smallest one is pretty weak. I’m wondering if they’ll even make it through till fall.

3 responses to “The Continuing Saga of the Bear Cubs

  1. carolyncholland

    I really enjoyed the pictures, and will link this to my site with bear stories:
    BEAR STORIES ACROSS THE NATION & BEAR CONFRONTATIONS: SAFETY PRECAUTIONS
    (www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com and http://www.beanerywriters.wordpress.com)
    Carolyn

  2. Thank you Carolyn! I will check out your site. Kim

  3. Ooooooh poor babies! I hope they make it.

    Wonderful photos, as always.

Leave a comment